Mount Westmore Releasing New Album On December 9

Mount Westmore members Too Short, Snoop Dogg, Ice Cube, and E-40.
Source : hiphop-n-more

Westcoast rap supergroup Mount Westmore is releasing its new album on December 9th.

The new album is fittingly called Snoop, Cube, 40, $hort, which is obviously just the name of all the group members' stage names. 

The rap supergroup recently released a single track titled "Activated" along with a music video, to build excitement for the upcoming album. After teasing and hinting from the members of the group, an album was long overdue. Fans were expecting one in 2021 but were disappointed when Mount Westmore's debut project, Bad MFs, was dropped as an NFT in June of last year. 

This time around, the much-awaited 16-track album is finally coming out via Mount Westmore/MNRK Music Group and will be available across all digital platforms. 

Mount Westmore Discography

The new album is not the first installment in Mount Westmore's discography.

Snoop, Cube, 40, $hort builds up on their previously released singles Bad MFs, Big Subwoofer, Step Child, and Too Big. The new album is, however, the group's first LP record. 

Rap veterans Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg, Ice Cube, and Eminem.
Source : nme

Mount Westmore's debut album, Bad MFs, was released by Ice Cube's co-created record company, in the metaverse via Gala Music. To the chagrin of fans, the tracks that were released on the blockchain platform were very exclusive, and not many of us were lucky enough to listen to those songs. 

Those who were lucky enough to experience that release, however, will recognize a number of tracks from the new album as the ones released as Bad MFs. This does not mean that Snoop, Cube, 40, $hort is just a re-release of the old stuff. There is a number of fresh selections which makes the new album appealing to all fans. 

The rap supergroup has released the tracklist for the upcoming album: 

1. California 9. I Got Pull
2. Motto 10. Up & Down
3. Big Subwoofer 11. Do My Best
4. Too Big (f. P-Lo) 12. Lace You Up
5. Activated 13. Tribal
6. Have a Nice Day 14. How Many
7. Ghetto Gutter 15. On Camera
8. Free Game 16. Mash

“You bring the legends of the West Coast together, something great will always happen. Cube, 40, Short, and I have been running the game for years. This is the perfect time because each of us brings authentic and new ideas to the table. All four together? That’s magic.”, said Snoop Dogg about the project in an interview with HotNewHipHop in 2021. 

Mount Westmore History

Mount Westmore members have a history together dating back to the 90s.

While the group was only formed in 2020, the members of Mount Westmore have been collaborating on tracks since their glory days. 

Snoop Dogg, Ice Cube, E-40, and Too Short were prominent figures of the rap game in the 90s. Each of them had sizeable careers since then. 

After co-founding Ruthless Records with legends Dr. Dre and Eazy-E, Ice Cube abruptly left NWA to pursue a solo career in light of dissatisfaction over his contract. His solo career opened with albums like AmeriKKKa's Most WantedDea*h Certificate, and The Predator, which were well-received at the time, perfectly juxtaposing with the racial unrest of 1990s Los Angeles. 

Rap group NWA members Ice Cube, Eazy-E, Dr. Dre, Yella, and MC Ren
Source : timeout

Snoop Dogg's fame came in 1992 when he featured in Dr. Dre's album, The Chronic. His debut solo album was Doggystyle and sold 800,000 copies in the first week of release. Since then, till the 2010s, Snoop Dogg had a very successful career in hip-hop and is a household name today. 

Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg during their early collaboration
Source : rollingstone

E-40 made his rap debut in 1986 with B-Legit, Suga T, and D-Shot in the group called "Most Valuable Players". For the early part of the 90s, E-40 was an underground artist and rose to mainstream fame in 1995 with his solo album In a Major Way. Since then he has released multiple albums and has featured with other artists, most notably his collaboration with Big Sean in the hit single I don't f with you. 

Rappers E-40 and Too Short
Source : billboard

Too $hort is considered to be one of the pioneers of West Coast rap that we know and love today. He earned his fame in the late 1980s by rapping lyrics based on pimping, drug culture, and street survival. One of his most successful albums was the 1998 Life is... Too Short. 

Mount Westmore Early Collaborations

Mount Westmore members' early collaborations started with E-40 and Too Short.

The duo had worked together on a multitude of collaborative songs like Ain't Nuthin' But A Word To Me from Too Short's 1990 album, Short Dog's in the House. In 2012, the rap duo released their joint venture called History: Mob Music and Function Music

Snoop Dogg, who was then called "Snoop Doggy Dogg" first worked with Too Short in his 1996 album The Doggfather's track, You Thought. Ice Cube and Snoop Dogg's first collaborated on Only in California, from Mack 10's album Based On a True Story from 1997.

In 1998, Ice Cube and E-40 teamed up to create J.A.Y.O. (Justice Against Y'all Oppressors) in Jayo's album Whatcha Gonna Do? D-Shot's 1998 compilation, "Boss Ballin' 2 - The Mob Bosses" saw E-40 and Snoop Dogg collaboration on We Came To Rock Ya Body.

The creation of a rap supergroup was in the talks in 2012 after the joint studio album from E-40 and Too Short and the discussion finally materialized in December 2020.

Mount Westmore has teased the upcoming album with the release of a music video of Activated. 

When one is asked about who the greatest rappers of all time are, the usual answers hail from the early 1990s to the 2000s. Not that current rappers are not geniuses in their own right, but there's just a different charm about the OG old-school rappers which Mount Westmore is bringing to the table with their new album releasing on December 9 via Mount Westmore/MNRK Music Group.